Skip to content

Completing a Certification Campaign

As a certification campaign comes to an end, there are several things you can do to ensure that all decisions are made and any undecided access items are resolved in a timely manner.

Each certification campaign has a deadline. You either set this date yourself, or select the default deadline of two weeks after the creation date. In the days leading up to the campaign's deadline, you can monitor your reviewers' progress as decisions come in and remind them to complete the campaign as the due date nears.

If the deadline has passed and access decisions still need to be made, you have the following options:

  • Maintain access to undecided items - If this campaign has been configured to maintain access to undecided items upon completion, select Complete & Maintain Access from the Actions drop-down menu. You will see a confirmation window with a check box indicating that the status of all undecided access items will be maintained and users keep the access. Select the check box to agree, and select Complete.

  • Choose to maintain or revoke access to undecided items - If this campaign has been configured for you to choose between maintaining or revoking access to undecided items at this time, make your selection from the Actions drop-down menu.

    • If you select Complete & Maintain Access, you will follow the same steps outlined above.

    • If you select Complete & Revoke Access, you will see a confirmation window indicating that your decision is final regarding these users' access rights and all undecided access items will be revoked. Select the check box to agree and select Complete.

Caution

Maintaining access is the recommended selection for undecided items in general due to the difficulty of reinstating access once it is revoked.

  • Wait for reviewers to complete - You can also leave the decisions open indefinitely until reviewers approve or revoke them and sign off on the campaign themselves.

Once all undecided access items are maintained or revoked, the campaign is considered complete and moves to the Completed tab.

If all of your reviewers have made their decisions and signed off on their certifications by the deadline, no action is needed for approve decisions and the campaign will automatically move to the Completed tab. For complete and revoke decisions, you will need to verify remediation to ensure that the revoked items in the campaign have been removed.

Notes

  • Role access items will always be maintained and can only be acknowledged, never revoked.
  • If a manager has made decisions but not signed off on the certification, the completion code preserves those decisions. For example, if a manager approves some things, never signs off, then the admin completes the campaign and revokes access, the manager's approvals are maintained and everything else is revoked.
  • Access cannot be revoked from one access profile if the entitlement in question is shared with another access profile.

Best Practices

  • Before selecting Complete on a campaign, review the reports to ensure that the campaign accurately reflects appropriate access rights for all listed identities.
  • Aggregate from the appropriate source (or import the updated flat file, which includes the changes you made to users' accounts) to complete the process.
  • Verify remediation as described in the Verifying that Revoked Access Items Have Been Removed section.

Verifying that Revoked Access Items Have Been Removed

Once you've completed a certification campaign, you need to track the progress of items that need to be revoked and manually remove access to those items. You will always need to verify remediation in these scenarios:

  • A certification campaign has been run and is either complete or overdue.

  • At least one reviewer in the campaign has selected Revoke on at least one access item.

  • A campaign has been completed by an admin where access to undecided items have been revoked.

IdentityNow responds to revoked items differently depending on the type of source they belong to. Some sources add a manual access removal task to the source owner's Task Manager if the items can't be removed automatically. If the source is a direct connect source, IdentityNow can remove the access from the identity automatically.

Manual Remediation

The campaign remediation status report includes all access that needs to be manually removed from a user in a source.

1. In the Admin interface, go to Certifications > Campaigns.

2. Find a campaign that is either complete or overdue.

3. Under Reports, select View to see a list of reports available for that campaign.

4. In the Generate column, select PDF or CSV beside the campaign remediation status report.

This report shows any access items that have been marked as disapproved in the certification.

5. Provide this report to source owners and users responsible for performing access remediation. You can run this report again as necessary to ensure that revoked items are removed from users.

Direct Connect Source Remediation

Your provisioning activity report tells you if access has been removed from users on direct connect sources.

1. In the Admin interface, go to Identities > Activities.

If access has been automatically revoked because of a certification, you'll see that action here. You can see the status of the action in the badge on the right.

2. For details about a particular action, select the Info icon.

Reminding Reviewers to Complete a Certification

IdentityNow automatically sends customizable certification reminder emails:

  • At the time the campaign is activated.
  • One week after a certification campaign begins.
  • Every seven days after the campaign begins until they sign off, the certification expires, or you complete the campaign for them by choosing to maintain or revoke remaining decisions.

You can also manually send emails to communicate with reviewers about their certifications.

  1. Go to Certifications > Campaigns and select a campaign.

2. From the list of campaign approvers, select the Email icon of the person you want to contact. This launches your default email app.

Deleting a Campaign

You can delete certification campaigns.

Warning

If any reviewers have made approvals or revoked access on any items in a certification, these decisions will be lost. The certification will no longer appear in participants' certification views, and they will not be notified that the certification has been deleted.

1. In the Admin interface, go to Certifications > Campaigns.

2. In the list of certification campaigns, select the check box for one or more items.

3. Select the Actions icon and choose Delete.

4. Select Continue in the confirmation message window.