Working with Metadata Reviews
Reviewers assigned to metadata reviews should complete them before the due date. If the information is incorrect, you can update it during the review. Changes are applied to the objects after the review is signed off.
Note
Currently, you can validate the Owner and Description attributes of roles and entitlements.
Access the metadata reviews assigned to you using any of the following ways:
- From the QuickLink
menu, select My Tasks > Metadata Reviews. - From the My Work menu, select My Metadata Reviews or Work Items.
- On your Home page, select the Metadata Reviews QuickLink card.
The My Metadata Reviews page lists the reviews assigned to you, with necessary information like campaign type, attributes to validate, due date, validated items out of the total, and the current review phase. The signed-off reviews are hidden by default. To view them, select the Show Signed Items checkbox at the upper right.
Reviewing Metadata Attributes
-
To start reviewing metadata attributes, select Start on a metadata review card.
On the Metadata Review page, use the Open tab to view the review items assigned to you.
For each review item, the table displays the following information:
Entitlements
Option Description Display Name The display name of the entitlement. Attribute The account-schema attribute this entitlement represents, such as memberOforgroups. For a permission, this column displays the permission target.Type The type of the entitlement, such as Entitlement or Permission. Description The entitlement description included in this review. Owner The identity who owns the entitlement. Application The application this entitlement belongs to. Roles
Option Description Role Name The programmatic name of the role. Role Display Name The human-readable name of the role. Type The type of the role, such as Business, Organizational, or IT. Description The role description included in this review. Owner The identity who owns the role. Application The applications associated with the entitlements included in the role. This column is displayed only for role types that contain entitlement sets, such as IT roles. -
Optional: Use the filter, sort, and column options to refine the table results as needed. For more information, refer to Searching, Sorting, and Filtering Results.
-
Optional: To view details of a review item, in the Actions column, select
> Details.A dialog displays details for the selected review item. The available tabs and details vary depending on the role or entitlement type. Details include information, such as:
- Role: Role hierarchy, allowed roles, entitlements
- Entitlement: Standard properties, object properties, members, and associated roles
It also displays classification and elevated access, if the options were set while creating the campaign. For more information, refer to Completing Additional Settings.
-
On the row of a review item, select Validate.
A dialog displays the attributes being validated and their current values.
-
Select the tab for the attribute you want to validate and do either of the following:
- If the value is correct, keep the current value.
-
If it is wrong, change the value:
- To change the owner, clear the Keep Current Owner checkbox and select a new identity or workgroup from the Update Owner list.
- To change the description, clear the Keep Current Description checkbox and enter a new description.
-
Add a comment explaining the change. A comment is required if it is configured as mandatory in the campaign configuration.
-
Select Confirm.
The Validate button changes to orange
when some attributes are validated and to green
when all attributes are validated. -
Select Save Decision.
After all the attributes are validated, the review item moves to the Validated tab.
Tip
You can validate multiple review items at once. For more information, refer to Making Decisions in Bulk.
-
Optional: To undo a validation:
- Go to the Validated tab.
- In the Actions column, select
> Undo Decision. -
Select Save Decision.
The review item is moved back to the Open tab.
-
After all items in a metadata review are validated, select Sign-Off Validations
.Note that this button becomes available for selection only when all the items in the metadata review are validated.
Important
Once signed off, you cannot undo the validations. Therefore, if you want to review your validations first, select Review Validations and Sign-Off Later to close the dialog without committing.
After sign-off, a Perform Maintenance (System Maintenance) task run applies the changes to the corresponding objects. The changes are then reflected across IdentityIQ.
-
Optional: To view the signed-off metadata reviews, select the Show Signed Items checkbox in the upper-right corner of the My Metadata Reviews page.
Forwarding a Metadata Review
Forward a metadata review to another reviewer if it was assigned to you incorrectly or you are unavailable to complete it.
To forward a complete metadata review set:
- On the My Metadata Reviews page or the Work Items page, select the Forward icon
on the metadata review card. - In the Forward Metadata Review dialog, select an identity or workgroup from the Forward to list, add a comment, and then select Forward.
To reassign some items from the review set:
- Open the review and select the specific items in the Open or Validated tab.
- From the Bulk Decisions dropdown menu, select Reassign.
- In the dialog, select a recipient, add a comment, and then select Reassign.
Reassigning selected items from a metadata review creates a new review set for the recipient that includes only those items. Existing decisions are preserved for items reassigned from the Validated tab and for partially validated items. The new reviewer validates only the attributes that are still open.
Note
The Reassign option in Bulk Decisions is available only if Enable Bulk Reassignment is turned on in the campaign configuration.
Making Decisions in Bulk
You can validate multiple review items, reassign multiple items, and undo validation for multiple items in a single action.
-
On the Open tab, select the required items and then select the following actions from the Bulk Decisions dropdown menu:
- To validate the items based on their current attribute values, select Validate.
- To discard decisions or validations before saving them, select the items, and then from the Bulk Decisions dropdown menu, select Clear Changes.
Tip
To select multiple items, select the checkbox in the table header and then select one of the following actions:
- Select Page - Selects all items on the current page.
- Select Everything - Selects all items across all pages.
-
To undo validation decisions that have already been saved:
- On the Validated tab, select the required items.
- From the Bulk Decisions dropdown menu, select Undo Decision.
-
To reassign a few items to another reviewer:
- On the Open or Validated tab, select the required items.
- From the Bulk Decisions dropdown menu, select Reassign.
For more information, refer to Forwarding a Metadata Review.