Skip to content

Reviewing access

Depending on your role, you may be asked to review requests for access and access removals. When a request is approved, the user’s access for an app, role, or entitlement is granted or removed, depending on the type of request. If you deny a request, the approval process stops, and no access is granted or removed.

Reviewing requests

When you need to review a request, you will receive an email notifying you that it's ready for your review.

Note

If someone else in your governance group has already reviewed an access request, it will disappear from your list. Only one person per group needs to approve or deny access.

To review a request:

  1. From the navigation menu, select Approvals to open your requests.

    Tip

    Before you approve or deny a request from the request card, review the Grant or Remove note in the upper left corner of the card.

  2. In the Requested Items tab, select a request card to review details about the request.

  3. Review the requested information.

  4. Select Approve or Deny.

    If you believe someone else is better suited to review this request, select Assign to a different reviewer (Reassign icon) to reassign the request to them.

When you approve a request, the following can occur:

  • If the request requires multiple reviewers, it is sent to the next reviewer in the queue.
  • If you're the last reviewer in the review process for this request, the user's access is added or revoked depending on the type of request.

If you deny a request, you're prompted to enter the reason you are denying the request.

After you deny a request, the approval process ends. Even if there are multiple reviewers in the queue, only one reviewer needs to deny access to stop the process.

To see access requests you've already approved or denied, select the Reviewed Items tab. Select the request to see details, your comments, the original requester's comments, and any reassignment-related comments.

Reassigning requests

Sometimes, you may need to reassign requests to another user if they are better suited for that approval. In any case, you can reassign requests to ensure users get access to the data and applications they need.

To reassign a request:

  1. Select Approvals from the navigation menu.

  2. In the Requested Items tab, select the request you want to reassign. Details about the request will appear in a new window.

  3. Select Assign to a different reviewer (Reassign icon).

  4. In the Reassign To field, enter the name of the new reviewer.

  5. In the Add Comments field, enter the reason you're reassigning this access request to the new reviewer or any other comments related to the request.

  6. Select Reassign.

The new reviewer will receive an email notifying them that the access request has been reassigned to them.